1941 in IBT History: Teamster members enlist in the armed services together all across the country following the attack on Pearl Harbor.

First Executive Board (1943 – 1944):
John Laquet, President
William Koch, Vice President
Raymond Knipp, Recording Secretary
Clay Overstreet, Secretary/Treasurer
Joe Murphy, Trustee
William Braun, Trustee
Albert Kusterman, Trustee

February 16, 1943
Teamsters Local 916 was originally chartered in Collinsville, IL by seven men with a vision – John Laquet, Pete Poletti, Clay Overstreet, Earl Henderson, Elmer Railley, William Brown and Lester Kueker. Meetings were held at the American Legion Hall, 116 Vandalia, Collinsville, IL.

The Local was named “General Teamsters, Warehousemen, Helpers, Milk Haulers & Dairy Workers.”